T22C09 / The politics of Policymaking: A pragmatist constructivist Approach

Topic: T22 / Preconference

Chair : Philippe Zittoun (ENTPE - Ecole de l'aménagement durable des territoires)

Second Chair: Christopher Ansell (University of California, Berkeley)

Third Chair: Patrick Hassenteufel (Université Paris-Saclay)

GENERAL OBJECTIVES, RESEARCH QUESTIONS AND SCIENTIFIC RELEVANCE

The course proposes to examine the main research question, concepts, and theory elements of a constructivist and pragmatist approach to study the Policy Process empirically. Inspired by Pragmatist Philosophy (Dewey, James), Pragmatist Sociology (Boltanski, Latour), and by the linguistic Turn in Social Sciences, this approach proposes to observe the policymakers "in action" involved in the policy process to impose a policy solution in the policy process and to understand it as a political activity. This approach proposes to take into account the cognitive skill and the discursive capacity of the stakeholders and the policymakers not only to define a wicked problem but also to transform it as a treatable problem that can be solved and to match it to a policy solution.

(AFTERNOON COURSE)

CALL FOR PAPERS

ICPP6 Preconference class

T22C09 / The politics of Policymaking: A pragmatist constructivist Approach

Chair : Philippe Zittoun (ENTPE - Ecole de l'aménagement durable des territoires)

Second Chair: Christopher Ansell (University of California, Berkeley)

Third Chair: Patrick Hassenteufel (Université Paris-Saclay)

Session 1

Monday, June 26th 14:00 to 17:00 (KHE118)

Crimeen Alana

Alana Crimeen (University of New South Wales)

Χ

Grbin Marianne

Marianne Grbin (University of Auckland)

Х

Collrin Bridget

Bridget Collrin (Toronto Metropolitan University)

X

Mohr Edward

Edward Mohr (Eberhard-Karls-Universität Tübingen)

Χ

Martin George

George Martin (York University)

Х

Gallardo Lucille

Lucille Gallardo (Aix-Marseille Université)

Х

Adlung Christopher

Christopher Adlung (TPM-Health)

Smith Ochoa Christopher

Christopher Smith Ochoa (Universität Duisburg-Essen)

Χ

Vosila Hugo

Hugo Vosila (Sciences Po Bordeaux)

Х

Boehm Bernhard

Bernhard Boehm (Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien)

Χ

(Virtual) Salazar Tamayo Maria Monica

Maria Monica Salazar Tamayo (Universitat Autónoma de Barcelona)

Х

Tshangela Mapula

Mapula Tshangela (University of Stellenbosch)

Χ

Chen Gabriel

Gabriel Chen (LKY School of Public Policy, National University of Singapore)

Χ

Rahm Laura

Laura Rahm (European University Institute)

Χ

Broqvist Hilda

Hilda Broqvist (Mid-Sweden University)

Χ

Gronchi Iacopo

Iacopo Gronchi (University College London, University of London)

Mccue Peter

Peter McCue (University of New South Wales)