Responsive image

Career Award (2023)

The IPPA Career Award is awarded biennially. The award recognises the contribution of outstanding scholars to the development of the field of Public Policy and/or Public Administration. Recipients will be prominent scholars with an established record of theoretical and empirical scholarly publications and service to the profession, and who have advanced the fields of Public Policy and/or Public Administration.

Self-nomination is allowed but the letter of those who self-nominate would not count as one of the two required supporting letters. 




  • Call for nominations: Extended until February 28, 2023
  • Results: May 1, 2023

Responsive image

How to submit?

All nominations must be submitted online by one correspondent who has compiled all the relevant materials of the candidate into one single file submission. Please follow the guidelines below to submit a nomination:

    • Click on the "Nominate" button above
    • Log in to your IPPA account (or create one)
    • Fill in the form:
    • In the "Title" field, please indicate the first name and last name of the nominee
    • In "File PDF", please upload one PDF file named as the "last name of the nominee_Career Award" containing the following: 
    1. Supporting statements from two academics and/or policy researchers in scholarly institutions or research centers based in two different countries advocating the merits of the candidate. This may be either one statement co-signed or two brief letters of support, but comprising no more than three pages in total. Neither the nominees nor the nominators have to be IPPA members.
    2. CV of the nominee
    • Once you have uploaded your pdf file, click on the "Submit" button. 

*Current members of the IPPA Executive should not nominate candidates, and are not eligible for the award.  Former members of the IPPA Executive become eligible two years after the end of their mandate.

Please direct your questions to


Jury members

Responsive image
Heike Grimm
University of Erfurt, Willy Brandt School of Public Policy

Jury Chair

Responsive image
Céline Mavrot
University of Lausanne

Jury Member

Responsive image
Meng-Hsuan Chou
Nanyang Technological University

Jury Member

Responsive image
Guillaume Fontaine
FLACSO Sede Ecuador

Jury Member

Previous Winners

Edition 2019
Responsive image
Richard Rose

University of Strathclyde

Edition 2017
Responsive image
Adrienne Héritier

European University Institute

Responsive image
We use cookies to ensure the proper functioning of our website and some tracking statistics (Learn more).