Responsive image

Early Career Research Award (2023)

The IPPA Early Career Research Award is awarded biennially to a scholar who, within seven years of completing the PhD, has a record of single-authored publications that represents a major theoretical, methodological, and/or empirical contribution to the field of Public Policy and/or Public Administration.

Self-nomination is allowed but the letter of those who self-nominate would not count as one of the two required supporting letters.


  • Call for nominations: October 18, 2022 - January 31, 2023
  • Results: May 1, 2023

Responsive image

How to submit?

All nominations must be submitted online by one correspondent who has compiled all the relevant materials of the candidate into one single file submission. Please follow the guidelines below to submit a nomination:

    • Click on the "Nominate" button above
    • Log in to your IPPA account (or create one)
    • Fill in the form:
  • In the "Title" field, please indicate the first name and last name of the nominee
  • In "File PDF", please upload one PDF file named as "last name of the nominee_Early Career Award" containing the following:
  1. Supporting statements from two academics and/or policy researchers in scholarly institutions or research centers based in two different countries advocating the merits of the candidate in terms of making a substantial contribution to the study of public policy and/or public administration. This may be either one statement co-signed or two brief letters of support, but comprising no more than three pages in total. Neither the nominees nor the nominators have to be IPPA members.
  2. CV of the nominee
  3. A record of single-authored publications of the nominee published within seven years of completing the PhD and which is made available via open access or in downloadable e-format.
  • Once you have uploaded your pdf file, click on the "Submit" button. 

*Current members of the IPPA Executive should not nominate candidates, and are not eligible for the award.  Former members of the IPPA Executive become eligible two years after the end of their mandate.

Please direct your questions to

Jury members

Responsive image
Isabelle Engeli
University of Exeter

Jury Chair

Previous Winners

Edition 2019
Responsive image
Osmany Porto de Oliveira

Department of International Relations - Federal University of São Paulo

Edition 2019
Responsive image
Philipp Trein

University of Lausanne

Edition 2021
Responsive image
Carolina Milhorance


Responsive image
We use cookies to ensure the proper functioning of our website and some tracking statistics (Learn more).