Responsive image

Transition and Developing Economies Award (2023)

The International Public Policy Association awards the Transition and Developing Economies Award biennially to an academic or researcher employed on a full-time basis (or emeritus/retired) either in a university or a policy research center located in a country identified as a developing or transition economy, and whose publications (book or articles) are directly related to public policy and/or public administration issues in one or more such countries. The award recognises the outstanding contribution of a mid-career to a senior scholar or researcher to the development of the field of Public Policy and/or Public Administration within either a developing or transition country context. The successful candidate will have an established record of theoretical and empirical scholarly publications as well as service to the profession.

Self-nomination is allowed but the letter of those who self-nominate would not count as one of the two required supporting letters.



  • Call for nominations: Extended until February 28, 2023
  • Results: May 1, 2023

Responsive image

How to submit?

All nominations must be submitted online by one correspondent who has compiled all the relevant materials of the candidate into one single file submission. Please follow the guidelines below to submit a nomination:

    • Click on the "Nominate" button above
    • Log in to your IPPA account (or create one)
    • Fill in the form:
      • In the "Title" field, please indicate the first name and last name of the nominee
      • In "File PDF", please upload one PDF file named as the "last name of the nominee_Trans&DevEco Award" and containing the following: 
      1. Supporting statements from two academics and/or policy researchers in scholarly institutions or research centers based in two different countries advocating the merits of the candidate.  This may be either one statement co-signed or two brief letters of support, but comprising no more than three pages in total. Neither the nominees nor the nominators have to be IPPA members. 
      2. CV of nominee
      3. One book manuscript or 3 other representative items (book chapters, journal articles, or significant policy reports) of published work of the nominee available via open access or in downloadable e-format
      • Once you have uploaded your pdf file, click on the "Submit" button.

*Current members of the IPPA Executive should not nominate candidates, and are not eligible for the award. Former members of the IPPA Executive become eligible two years after the end of their mandate.

Please direct your questions to

Jury members

Responsive image
Eduardo Araral
Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy

Jury Chair

Responsive image
Serik Orazgaliyev
Nazarbayev University

Jury Member

Responsive image
Wang Yahua
Tsinghua University

Jury Member

Responsive image
Tahani Al- Saigh
Academy for Developing Administrative Leaders

Jury Member

Responsive image
R. Sudarshan
Jindal School of Government and Public Policy

Jury Member

Previous Winners

Edition 2021
Responsive image
Oscar Oszlak

Universidad de Buenos Aires

Responsive image
We use cookies to ensure the proper functioning of our website and some tracking statistics (Learn more).